Thoughts on peace


An interesting assignment in class tonight: describe peace without using war (or it’s many synonyms), find 10 images of peace and finally add a soundtrack that indicates or represents peace. Immediately we run into problems – the classic definition of peace is the absence of war – refers to war. We can try the other way – war is the continuation of diplomacy by other means, so is peace diplomacy without other means – but we are still dancing around the war meme. A well known chant goes “no justice no peace” so the presence of justice is necessary for peace – that starts to sound right. Justice is at least a precursor for peace.
When there is inequality, especially vast inequality that is not based on ability then conflict occurs. So we have two preconditions or conditions of peace – justice and at least the chance of equality. We cannot consider the extreme poor and homeless to be at peace, the same can be said for the oppressed or those who desire to oppress others for that matter. So far we have: justice, a semblance of equality, economic security and a lack of oppression. Finally we have to deal with the issue of hate. Those who feel hate, whether justified of not, cannot be said to have peace. If there are other precursors of peace then I am having trouble thinking of them. Doh – a higher purpose! Man (and woman) is not meant to just survive, there are needs and desires that cannot be easily explained – a desire to be useful, to accomplish things, to be needed. Should we not also include these in a definition of peace.
Published in: on May 26, 2009 at 11:19 pm  Comments (1)  

Starting new classes – new tricks


This evening I start new classes for the summer at SIUE – "Problems of War and Peace" and "Intro. to Philosophy" a pair of deep subjects. So far in most of the classes that I’ve attended I’ve been the oldest student, or a couple of times the oldest person (including professor) in my class. Does make things feel a bit challenging and sometimes have to bite my tongue when I hear young students say things that strike me as foolish but which I certainly said myself many years ago. However I do get to learn new things from my fellow students – such as a young lady talking about a guy she was seeing and I asked if she had a new boyfriend, she replied "well its not facebook official".
Published in: on May 26, 2009 at 9:24 am  Leave a Comment